Social Media

Web Bibliography Tools

Databases

Database passwords (with Moodle login)


ABC-CLIO Social Studies
:
An outstanding set of databases on U.S. and world history (ancient and modern) with topic overviews, primary sources. Also includes U.S. and World Geography, Issues (pro/con topics), World at at War, American Government, Daily Life Through History, and Pop Culture Universe, Modern Genocide and World Religions.

ABC-CLIO World Folklore and Folklife
ABC-CLIO World Folklore and Folklife: A collection of thousands of international folk and fairy tales. Original texts, translations, and analysis relating to topics as varied as literature, gender roles, and cultural studies.

Grolier Online: 3 digital encyclopedias in one. It's also a great way to find reviewed websites on a topic.

The Oxford English Dictionary
is more than your average dictionary. Look up word origins, histories, and pronunciations.

Stream, download or burn digital video for the classroom. Watch the Planet Earth series here.

Career Transitions:
An online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process. Discover career interests, prepare a resume and cover letter, brush up on networking, interviewing and negotiating skills.

Expert Space
Science and Social studies content at multiple reading levels. 

Chilton Library.com - Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself People

Gale Online Resources
Choose your own search: GREAT GRAD CHALLENGE STARTING POINT!

Gale PowerSearch
: Comprehensive database for magazine, journal, and newspaper articles.  PowerSearch searches multiple Gale databases at once.
Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints
: Get both sides of the issue: opinions, overviews of issues, reference sources, statistics, websites, and more.

Global Issues
in Context
: Get world news and international perspectives on current issues and conflicts affecting our world.

Health & Wellness
Resource Center
:
Look up authoritative information on diseases, health conditions, and treatments.

Biography in Context
:
Biographies of more than 500,000 individuals gleaned from periodicals reference sources and multimedia content.

LegalTrac
Legal
Trac
: Find articles on Constitutional Law, Civil Rights, and Criminal Justice from a range of legal journals, newspapers, and law reviews.

Vermont libraries joined together to bring you this collection of
free downloadable audiobooks and ebooks called Listen Up! Vermont.
Sign in choosing Champlain Valley Union High School and your school ID (the same one you use to buy lunch).


Small Business Resource Center
Small Business Resource Center:
  Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, "how-to” guides, articles and websites.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Searchable database of 17 newspapers containing scanned images of the actual pages dating back to 1764.


Gale Science in Context:
Start here for information on any science-related topic



ProQuest Learning Literature: One-stop shopping for all your English class needs. Authors, poetry, literary works, literary analysis, and more. (Check out the KnowledgeNotes Study Guides for major literary works.)

Explore countries of the world. Facts, stats, customs and cultures in the country. Create custom comparison graphs and charts or find a recipe.


Powerspeak Languages: Online language training. Currently you can learn Spanish, French, Mandarin, German, and ESL Spanish, with more languages to come in 2011. Patrons set up an individual account.

Browse
science topics, search for articles, look up facts, find reviewed science websites,or use interactive science web features.


Search through Salem's reference sets on world history by geographical location, person, or subject.

Use to search for information from Encyclopedia of Global Warming and from Encyclopedia of Global Resources.